What’s Behind The AI Flat Rate Debate? Grok Costs And OpenAI’s Rule Changes
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: What’s Behind The AI Flat Rate Debate? Grok Costs And OpenAI’s Rule Changes on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get hardware and tech essentials delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that Grok Bot’s serving costs were “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” but gave no figures or details of a change. In the same week, OpenAI updated account-sharing limits and said several paid plans will use a shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance from December, while also expanding some higher-tier allowances.

Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that the cost of serving xAI’s Grok Bot was “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” as OpenAI revised rules for paid ChatGPT accounts and announced a shared usage allowance for ChatGPT and Codex starting in December. The statements and changes renew questions about what fixed-price AI subscriptions cover, but neither company’s announcement establishes that flat monthly pricing is ending.

Musk replied on X to a user asking for a Grok Bot reset after reports that usage had run out quickly. He wrote: “The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.” The post included no cost, revenue or margin figures, and did not specify a price change, usage reduction or reset. It referred to Grok Bot, xAI’s agent, not Grok chat generally.

According to xAI’s pricing information described in the source material, Grok Bot is available through the Premium, Super and Ultra X Subscription plans, priced at $30, $100 and $200 per month, respectively. Its usage draws on a shared weekly pool that also covers Grok chat and xAI models in the coding tool Cursor. xAI says consumption depends on agent steps, tokens and the work requested, rather than simply the number of messages.

OpenAI’s help-center updates address both account access and usage. The company says paid subscriptions are subject to limits on how many accounts can be used on a device and how many subscriptions can be purchased with a payment card or device; the listed plans include Go, Plus and Pro tiers. OpenAI does not publish the numerical limits in the material provided. From December, Plus, Pro and Business customers are due to draw from one allowance across ChatGPT and Codex, measured in tokens. The source says unlimited “Instant” chats remain outside that meter.

At a glance
reportWhen: Developments reported between Oct. 29 a…
The developmentMusk’s comment about Grok Bot costs coincided with OpenAI changes to paid-account limits and usage allowances.
Crypto market snapshot
Fear & Greed Index
37/100 — Fear
Bitcoin BTC$78,076▲ 0.3%
Ethereum ETH$2,284▲ 0.7%
Tether USDT$0.999▼ 0.1%
BNB BNB$707.63▲ 0.2%
XRP XRP$1.25▼ 0.2%
USDC USDC$0.9996▼ 0.0%
Solana SOL$94.28▼ 1.3%
TRON TRX$0.3151▲ 1.7%
Live data · CoinGecko · alternative.me (24h change)
Thorsten Meyer AI
29 Oct – 1 Nov 2026

Infographic 01 · One week, four moves

More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked

In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset

0cost or revenue figures in Musk’s post
5paid ChatGPT plans under the new device limits
DecChatGPT and Codex share one allowance
2×Work and Codex allowance, Pro 100 and Pro 500
29 Oct · Confirmed

OpenAI gives more on top plans

Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.

Late Oct · Confirmed

Limits per card and per device

ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.

31 Oct · Confirmed

One meter from December

Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.

1 Nov · Confirmed post, no numbers

Musk: Grok Bot cost too much

One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.

Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.

Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

AI Plans Add More Usage Rules

The changes show why the monthly price alone may not describe how much AI service a customer can use. Agent tasks can consume different amounts of computing depending on their length and complexity, while a shared allowance means activity in one product can affect capacity in another. That can make usage harder for individuals to track and harder for businesses to budget.

For customers, the practical issue is whether a plan’s allowance, reset timing and overage options match their needs—not just whether the advertised price is fixed. For companies buying multiple seats, shared pools and metered usage can affect forecasting and internal allocation. The source material advises organizations to seek written usage and pricing details and consumers to check their account’s usage information before paying for upgrades, resets or credits.

Still, the evidence does not establish a broad retreat from flat monthly fees. OpenAI’s changes include tighter account rules and a new shared meter, but also expanded some allowances on higher-tier plans. Musk’s post identifies a cost concern without explaining what xAI will do about it. Limits and pricing details remain plan-specific, and the two companies’ policies are not identical.

Products Worth Considering

DJI Mic 3 Wireless Microphone System (2 Transmitters, 1 Receiver, Charging Case)

DJI Mic 3 Wireless Microphone System (2 Transmitters, 1 Receiver, Charging Case)

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

From Unlimited Claims to Usage Pools

OpenAI introduced a $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan in December 2024, describing access to its best models as unlimited. In January 2025, chief executive Sam Altman wrote on X that the company was losing money on Pro subscriptions because people used them more than expected. That earlier remark is relevant to the current debate, but it does not establish the economics of today’s plans.

The recent developments came in a short period. On Oct. 29, OpenAI announced changes to allowances for some Pro tiers. The source describes the release notes as doubling Work and Codex allowances on Pro 100 and Pro 500 and cancelling a planned reduction on Pro 200. A post by OpenAI employee Thibault Sottiaux characterized the changes more broadly, saying usage limits were being doubled across several tiers; OpenAI’s release notes, as summarized in the source, specify the narrower Work and Codex changes.

OpenAI’s account-limit help page was updated in late October, and the shared ChatGPT-Codex allowance is scheduled for December. Musk’s X exchange followed on Nov. 1. Together, the moves reflect separate decisions by two companies; they do not, on their own, prove that the wider AI industry is adopting a single pricing model.

““The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.””

— Elon Musk, replying to an X user on Nov. 1, 2026

Costs, Caps and Resets Remain Unclear

Musk did not say what costs or revenues he was referring to, whether xAI had already changed Grok Bot’s allocation, or whether any change to price, weekly usage or reset policy is planned. His use of the past tense does not confirm that a particular limit was changed. No financial figures are provided, so estimates of Grok Bot’s losses or margins are unsupported by the cited post.

The source material says other outlets reported a post from Grok’s official account referring to “adjusted allocations” and a separate dashboard issue that temporarily overstated usage. It also says the writer could not locate the account post. Those details are therefore reported but not independently confirmed here. OpenAI’s numerical card and device limits are also not specified in the material, and the December shared allowance’s practical effect for different usage patterns is not quantified.

Watch for Usage Policy Details

The next stated milestone is OpenAI’s December rollout of a shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance for Plus, Pro and Business plans. Customers will be able to assess the change more clearly once OpenAI’s account pages show how the shared meter works in practice, including how usage is counted and when allowances reset.

For xAI, the source material identifies no announced follow-up from Musk. Further clarity would require an explanation from the company of any Grok Bot allocation changes, the weekly pool and available reset options. Until then, his post confirms a cost concern, not a specific change to service or pricing. Users and business customers should check current plan terms directly, since allowances and account rules may differ by tier.

Key Questions

Did Elon Musk announce a Grok Bot price increase?

No price increase was announced in the X post cited. Musk said serving Grok Bot cost more than the revenue justified, but gave no pricing or policy details.

Is Grok Bot the same as Grok chat?

No. The source describes Grok Bot as xAI’s agent, which carries out tasks such as research or browsing. Musk’s comment referred to Grok Bot, not Grok chat generally.

What is OpenAI changing for ChatGPT subscribers?

OpenAI says it limits how many paid accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be purchased with one card or device. From December, Plus, Pro and Business plans are due to share an allowance between ChatGPT and Codex.

Does this mean AI subscriptions are no longer flat-rate?

The cited developments do not establish that. They point to usage caps, shared allowances and account restrictions alongside monthly subscriptions. The effects depend on each provider and plan.

What should businesses and users check?

Check the current plan terms, how usage is counted, allowance and reset details, and any separate charges before relying on a service. For businesses, written pricing and usage terms can help with budgeting; AI usage and costs can vary with the task.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Nothing in this article is financial or investment advice. Cryptocurrency and precious-metal investments carry significant risk — do your own research and consider a licensed advisor.
You May Also Like

The RAM Threshold That Changes How Useful an AI Laptop Feels

Keen to maximize your AI laptop’s performance? Discover the RAM threshold that could transform your experience—find out why your next upgrade matters.

What AI Agents Could Mean for Small Teams

Just how can AI agents revolutionize small teams, and what challenges must you navigate to unlock their full potential?

The Microduck’s Open Stack: A Serious AI Platform In Disguise

Hugging Face introduces Microduck, a $399 open-source robot for developers, emphasizing accessible embodied AI and reinforcement learning at low cost.